The average friend lists on Facebook already contain several hundred people. In the chat, you will be shown to all of your contacts online as soon as you use the network. We explain how you deactivate the Facebook chat, and from now on, you are incognito.
Deactivate Facebook chat: for all contacts or only for certain people
The corresponding option is not difficult to find despite the numerous privacy settings on Facebook. For a better overview, we recommend making the setting via the browser:
- Log in to Facebook.
- The chat window is located at the bottom right of the browser. You will see a little gear on the far right – click on it because that is where you will find the chat options.
- In the options menu, which now opens, you will find the option “Deactivate chat” at the bottom.
- After clicking on this option, you will be presented with various options:
- “Deactivate chat for all friends”: With this option, you are invisible to all contacts in your friend’s list, without exception.
- “Deactivate chat for all friends, except …”: Here, you can define exceptions, i.e., selected contacts for whom you want to be shown as online.
- “Deactivate chat only for certain friends …”: The opposite way, in which you remain visible, except for people that you explicitly specify.
You can sort your friends into lists is a great help when filtering the online and offline chat contacts.
Simply reactivate Facebook chat if necessary.
To reactivate chat, all you have to do is click on the chat window. The online symbol, a green circle, should then appear, and all of your friends can see you in the chat again.
- How to create WhatsApp backup on Android
- HP Laptop: Boot Menu Key – How to Open It | HP Boot Menu Key